News and views


A paper on “Porosity in Thick Section Alloy 690 Welds – Experiments, Modeling, Mechanism, and Remedy” by J. J. Blecher, T. A. Palmer, and T. DebRoy published in  Welding Journal, 2016, vol. 95, pp. 17S-26S was awarded the 2017 McKay Helm Award of the American Welding Society (AWS) in its annual meeting in Chicago, 6-9 November 2017.  AWS is one of the largest professional societies in the world with 73,000 members.


Congratulations to Tuhin Mukherjee who earned the 2017 Newnham Research award of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Penn State. Only one of our many graduate students receives this award in any year.


Dr. Huiliang Wei has just been appointed full Professor at Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China, in October 2017.  Huiliang is developing a strong research program in additive manufacturing at Nanjing.

Professor Amitava De has been appointed the Academic Dean at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay in 2017.


Dr. Todd Palmer has been appointed a Professor in Engineering Science and Mechanics and Materials Science and Engineering at Penn State in 2017. 


Professor G. G. Roy has recently (2017) finished a term as Head of Department, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering at IIT Kharagpur.  He Is now the Associate Dean, Sponsored Research and Industrial Consultancy (SRIC) at IIT Kharagpur.


Dr. Thomas Zacharia has been appointed Director of Oak Ridge National Laboratory in 2017.


American Welding Society (AWS) celebrated the sustained contributions made by the former and current members of our research group and called it an “Honorary symposium for Professor T. DebRoy” at McCormick Place, Chicago, November 2017.